Because I’m a sucker for a writing challenge

I'm a Zero to Hero Blogger!

Who am I? How did I get here? What did I have for breakfast?

I can’t walk past a writing challenge without signing up to it. I’ve failed at more Big Bang challenges than I can shake a stick at, ‘lost’ NaNoWriMo 7 times out of my 10 attempts and have a harddrive full of unfinished manuscripts. On the other hand, I’ve also completed a slew of Big Bangs, won a fic bingo competition with not one but two full houses, got a first on my dissertation at university and won NaNoWriMo three times. The Zero to Hero challenge seemed like a twofold good idea. One because I like a challenge, and two because it was things I needed to do.

So here we are. Today’s challenge is to publish a ‘Who I am and why I’m here post’, so that’s what I’m doing. It’s sort of a long story, I suppose. Alexandra Needham isn’t my real name, but it could have been. I’m 23, live with my parents in the heart of the Pennines in Yorkshire, where I was born and bred, and I have just thrown myself into the life of a full time writer. This means a lot of trying to persuade my parents that it is a job and I need to do it every day, but we’re working on that one.

Writing is my passion, and always has been. I used to get in trouble for reading too much, and once I had to put the book down I disappeared into my own stories, because they were more interesting than maths lessons. It wasn’t until I was twelve that I discovered fanfiction and put pen to paper, but I’d been an eager participant for a lot longer than that. Now I’ve been at it for over a decade. I’m almost an old hand, but you grow up slowly in fandom.

There will be a lot about writing, and probably less about the rest, but there is a lot of rest. I love to cook and bake and worked in catering for a while. I’m a third generation morris dancer, although I don’t dance at the moment (that might be changing soon) and I travel a lot with the side my dad and brother dance with. I love photography, especially of morris dancers and the gorgeous Yorkshire scenery I’ve been so lucky to grow up surrounded by. I used to sing seven days a week in choirs, and now sing around the kitchen.

I’m a cat person, and currently share my (single) bed with the grumptastic Dowager Duchess Vomit, George, and two four and a half month old kittens called Tybalt and Captain (Malteser). Tybalt loves feet, George throws up on my duvet if she eats too much, and Captain likes to explore my face when I close my eyes. Some nights I get very little sleep, and try to off-load them on my brother, who’s 21 and understands science. I do not understand science, but I do understand people so I guess that makes us even.

I love folk music, as long as it rocks, and also love cheesy pop and soaring Twentieth Century British classical composers. I talk a lot, and write a lot too. The trick, you see, is to get me to stop.

15 thoughts on “Because I’m a sucker for a writing challenge

  1. Pingback: There went another bandwagon | From a blank page to happily ever after

  2. Pingback: This is the End…of the Month | Chris Musgrave - Writer in Training

  3. Hello, writer masquerading as Alexandra Needham. Many thanks for following my blog. I look forward to following yours too. Personally, understanding people is infinitely more important than understanding science, and indeed should be a pre-requisite to understanding anything else..

    I can see your vomiting cat and raise you an incontinent dog! He’s 14, so a small price to pay, and at least (at 45kg) he’s too big to do anything on my bed!

    Best wishes from blisteringly hot Melbourne. Give my regards to Blighty! Lorraine

    • Hi there! Yeah, George is 16 so we let her off with a lot. Last time she was sick she threw up on poor Tybalt, which was at least entertaining once dealt with.
      Love to Melbourne! I lived out there for six months, miss it like crazy, although I’m glad it never got as hot as it is now when I was there. I would have melted.

  4. I like your writing style. Sounds fun! Also sounds like you have lots of fodder for stories from your own surroundings and experiences. Good luck and keep it up! And by the way, thanks for visiting my own blog. Great to have a new follower!

  5. I have a cat who loves feet. We always thought she was strange, but I’m glad to hear she’s not the only one. (She’s adorable and we love her no matter how weird she is, though.)

    • I’ve had a couple of cats who love feet. Our Dowager Duchess used to, but she’s a bit geriatric and doesn’t like anything now…
      And the little one has just decided I need to stop writing, draped himself over my arm, licked me and then stuck his claws in. I can take a hint.

  6. Ooo what kind of Morris Dancing? Black face or not? Look forward to hearing about your writing and possibly your moggies. πŸ™‚ Hope they give you a good night’s sleep tonight. lol

    • Most of them, to be honest lol. I’ve done at least workshops for all of them except the Somerset stave dancing, but the styles I’ve performed are Welsh Border, which we didn’t do blacked up because masks are a lot easier to wash off, and rapper sword dancing from the North East.

      • Sword dancing sounds fascinating! Any chance of pictures of the Morris group or sword dancing? Would love to see them πŸ™‚

      • I have about a million photos of morris dancing, so I can definitely get some up. I’m off to a festival next weekend, too, so there will be fresh ones.

Leave a Reply

