Ten Timesucks of Excellent Advice

The challenge for Day 23 of Zero to Hero (what do you mean it’s a week late?) was to publish a round-up of some blogs we’ve been reading and enjoying. I’m glad I didn’t do it at the time, because over the last few days I’ve picked up even more blogs that I liked, most of them from Twitter, until I had a nice round number of blogs that I think are fun and stuffed full on invaluable advice on writing.

Ninie Hammon has been tweeting links to some brilliant articles from her archive, and I tumbled down that rabbit hole fast.

Sam Starbuck has been one of my favourite writers of fanfiction for a very long time, and now I find he has WordPress as well. He writes good advice and wonderful stories.

Another Zero to Hero blogger, Taylor Grace dragged me in with her lists of writing resources and articles, and by being generally lovely and having a pink userpic.

Writer of Many, Many Things James Moran got my attention by writing for Torchwood and then being an absolute gent on Twitter. He has 139 posts on writing on his blog, covering his work in film, TV, printed stuff and his zombie survival plans. I have a rule that I follow anyone with a documented Zombie Survival Plan, just in case.

Jason Arnopp is also a writer of Many Things, including Big Finish Doctor Who work.

Holly Lisle has many interesting blog posts and some interesting-looking courses.

Vic Briggs is no relation to Nicholas Briggs, voice of the Daleks, but is an entertaining blogger.

Another published author with much advice to impart is Nathan Bransford. He’s even got a book called How To Write A Novel, but his blog has everything from planning through to publishing an ebook.

Chuck Wendig is NSFW and sweary, but did this excellent piece on creating characters, among many other must-read blog posts.

And to finish my list, Kelsie Engen has plenty of tips on the building blocks, the nuts and bolts of writing, including one today on what the Passive Voice is and when you actually should use it.

There are, obviously, lots of other writers whose posts I’ve read and loved over the last month, but 10 was a good number and leaves me posts to write in the future.

4 thoughts on “Ten Timesucks of Excellent Advice

  1. Pingback: English Verb Tenses | The Written Word Remains...

  2. Hi, I took on the challenge to write every day, but did not follow the daily instructions. Writing every day allowed me to develop my writing and editing skills. I also learned a few things about coming up with material every day. So this was good for me.
    Blogging is one big language experiment with few rules. Don’t worry about missing someone else’s deadline.

  3. Thanks for the link to my site! I’m so pleased that you’ve found the blog useful. šŸ™‚ I’ll be checking out and revisiting some of the others you’ve listed here!

Leave a Reply

