Of course, there’s a disadvantage with pen and paper

I had a stack of notes, a page for the overall story arc, a page for each section, and a few pages of characters. Loose sheets for sticking to walls when I needed them.
Had is the operative word here.

I also had a pint of squash, but when the pair came together across the kitchen table I lost both. When I write on my computer, I save to my external hard drive and to Google Drive in the same action. I should back up more, but the only computer problems I’ve actually had have been losing small backups (I have memory sticks everywhere, but never the one I need) and just not having computer access. It’s a lot harder to put down a computer and forget where you left it, or spill a pint of liquid over it.

Rule 1: Backup. And then backup again.
Rule 2: Backup some more.

I should know this. The last ten years have been the sort of years where losing my work would be a Very Bad Thing. GCSEs, A levels, degree, ten years of NaNoWriMo, living overseas for six months, really not a good time to lose things irretrievably. So all my work stuff is in one attaché case, the journal I keep my notes in, my business plan, even my passport.

Yeah. I’ll just, um… Go and fix that. And get out a really big piece of paper to redo all my plot notes.

4 thoughts on “Of course, there’s a disadvantage with pen and paper

  1. Pingback: I Have a Cunning Plan | From a blank page to happily ever after

  2. I am horribly guilty at not backing up my handwritten notes/writings! Far harder to, if you ask me… I mean, who is going to write it all out again, or photocopy it a gazillion times?

    • I should at least take a photo of stuff. All my photos are instantly backed up to Google Drive, so I have no excuse at all. The other problem is that I can’t read my handwriting, so it’s probably no huge loss.

      • Ahh, taking a photo! I never thought of that. I am clearly far too old fashioned for such modern techniques :S
        Ha, I know the feeling of that – such sprawl!

Leave a Reply

